Savannah's Theatre Blog

The Producers… BATS Style

Posted in Uncategorized by Savannah on July 26, 2010

I cannot honestly say that I particularly enjoyed this performance of the producers but I can give several stylistic choices that I think would have made it better.

1. The long, long set changes! They were SO long I am sure they added an extra hour to the show, this made such moments fairly dull. I think it would have been better to make these shorter, even if the furniture/set was re-used.

2.  The lead was in jail in front of the proscenium. This was to make it more intimate and personal which I generally like although the acting and singing could have been more thoroughly executed (although we accept that it could not be as the man was not a professional performer and it is amateur theatre).

3. We were able to see the musicians. I’m not quite sure if this was breaking down the fourth wall as it was not the character’s themselves interacting in any way with the audience. I liked this stylistic choice because they – the musicians – were clearly recognised as being important.

The acting…

I like Ms Allen in this production and actually enjoyed watching her scenes. She was clear in her intentions, had an exaggerated yet consistent accent, high energy and good focus.

Leave a Reply

